Big River: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Book by William Hauptman
Music and Lyrics by Roger Miller
Adapted from the novel Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

Twain's timeless classic sweeps us down the mighty Mississippi as the irrepressible Huck Finn helps his friend Jim, a slave, escape to freedom at the mouth of the Ohio River. Their adventures along the way are hilarious, suspenseful and heartwarming, bringing to life your favorite characters from the novel: the Widow Douglas and her stern sister, Miss Watson; the uproarious King and Duke, who may or may not be as harmless as they seem; Huck's partner in crime, Tom Sawyer, and their rowdy gang of pals; Huck's drunken father, the sinister Pap Finn; the lovely Mary Jane Wilkes, and her trusting family. Propelled by an award winning score from Roger Miller, the king of country music, this jaunty journey provides a brilliantly theatrical celebration of pure Americana. Directed by Maria Matters.

Tickets are $17, $15 for students/seniors, $10 for children. Click here to purchase online.

Check out photos from the show on our Facebook page!


Mark Twain: Kevin Shadle
Huckleberry Finn: Anthony Snitker
Widow Douglas: Barbara Howrey
Miss Watson: Brenda Snyder
Jim: Jordan Donica
Tom Sawyer: David Buergler
Ben Rogers: Jim Melton
Joe Harper: Thomas Whitcomb
Simon: Scott Hainey
Dick: Cormac Doebbeling
Pap Finn: Ed Trout
Judge Thatcher: Gary Life
Strange Woman: Barbara Howrey
Crossing Soloist: Brandon Glenn
The King: John Phillips
The Duke: Michael Davis
Hank: Jim Melton
Andy: Cormac Doebbeling
Lafe: Scott Hainey
Young Fool: Jerry Beasley
Isaac: Sidney Moore
Andrew: Dennis J. Jones
Mary Jane Wilkes: Noelle Steele
Susan Wilkes: Christina Barnes
Joanna Wilkes: Morgan Ray
Counselor Robinson: Ed Trout
Sheriff Bell: Brad Doebbeling
Harvey Wilkes: Scott Hainey
Sally Phelps: Brenda Snyder
Silas Phelps: Gary Life
Doctor: Kevin Shadle

St. Petersburg Townsfolk, Mourners and Gospel Chorus

Jerry Beasley
Sydney Cabell
Trent Cook
Brad Doebbeling
Bronwyn Doebbeling
Caroline Doebbeling
Gwyneth Doebbeling
Lauren Frank
Brandon Glenn
Jack Molitor
Sidney Moore
Haley Glickman
Barbara Howrey
Megan Melton
Willaine St. Pierre-Sandy
Gwendolyn Stout
Allie Wineland
Shannon Wise


Director: Maria Matters
Vocal Director: John Phillips
Orchestra Director: Robert Blacketer
Choreographer: Noel Outland
Costumer: Jennifer Davis
Props: Carol Kirk
Props Assistant: Dana Flack
Set Design: Ed Trout
Set Decoration: Michael Davis
Technical Director: Keith Matters
Executive Producer: Bill Hale
Producer: Debbie Noffke
Producer: Marianne Malcolmson


May 4, 5, 6, 11,
12, 18, 19 and 20, 2012

Fridays & Saturdays: 8pm
Sundays: 2:30pm