"South Pacific"

Footlite's season will conclude May 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 16, 17 and 18, 2008, with the classic musical "South Pacific." The winner of the 1950 Tony Award for Best Musical and the 1950 Pulitzer Price for Drama, the musical returns to Footlite for its fifth mounting after productions in 1964, 1971, 1980 and 1995. Bill Hale will direct this production with music by Richard Rodgers and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II. "South Pacific" was written by Oscar Hammerstein II and Joshua Logan and adapted from the Pulitzer Prize winning novel "Tales Of The South Pacific" by James Michener.

Set in an island paradise during World War II, two parallel love stories are threatened by the dangers of prejudice and war. Nellie, a spunky nurse from Arkansas, falls in love with a mature French planter, Emile. Nellie learns that the mother of his children was an island native and, unable to turn her back on the prejudices with which she was raised, refuses Emile's proposal of marriage. Meanwhile, the strapping Lt. Joe Cable denies himself the fulfillment of a future with an innocent Tonkinese girl with whom he's fallen in love out of the same fears that haunt Nellie. When Emile is recruited to accompany Joe on a dangerous mission, Nellie realizes that life is too short not to seize her own chance for happiness, thus confronting and conquering her prejudices.


Ensign Nellie Forbush: Amy Douglas
Emile de Becque: Rick Purvis
Ngana, his daughter: Kara Oates
Jerome, his son: Teresa Quinto
Henrietta, his native servant: Krystal Jones
Bloody Mary: Agnes Shelton
Liat, her daughter: Bethany Arrington
Luther Billis: R. Brian Noffke
Stewpot (Carpenter's Mate Second Class George Watts): Tristan Ross
Professor: Tom Abeel
Lt. Joseph Cable, U.S.M.C.: Andrew Reddick
Captain George Brackett, U.S.N.: Steve Demuth
Commander William Harbison, U.S.N.: Robert Penney
Lt. Buzz Adams: William Andrews
Lt. Genevieve Marshall: Deb Weinmann
Ensign Lisa Manelli: Jennifer Berkemeier
Ensign Connie Walewska: Joli Heavin
Ensign Janet McGregor: Shari Raper
Ensign Pamela Whitmore: Kelly Perillo
Ensign Rita Adams: Blair Godshall
Ensign Sue Yaeger: Cheri Whitney
Ensign Betty Pitt: Krystal Jones
Ensign Cora MacRae: Gloria Bray
Ensign Dinah Murphy: Caroline Nauth
Sailors and Marines: Josh Breece, Jacob Cole, Robert Penney, Mark Jackson, Walker Ruby


Producer: Debbie Noffke
Director: Bill Hale
Musical Director: Kevin D. Smith
Choreographer: Kelly Price
Scenic Design: R. Brian Noffke
Lighting Design: R. Brian Noffke
Costume Designer: Stephen Hollenbeck
Technical Director: Tom Noffke
Property Master/Mistress: Carol Kirk


May 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 16, 17 and 18, 2008


Friday, Saturday: 8pm
Sunday: 2:30pm

View photos from this production