The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas logo

The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas

Music & Lyrics by Carol Hall

Book by Larry L. King & Peter Masterson

November 24-26, November 30-December 3, 7-10, 2017

Sign language-interpreted performance: December 2.

(Interpretive services provided by Luna Language Services)

Buy Tickets Now

About the show:

The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas is an exuberant and bawdy musical comedy based on the true story of a legendary Texas brothel known as the Chicken Ranch, which operated from the 1840’s to 1973. Protected by a friendly sheriff and frequented by politicians, football teams and others, girls came from all over to work and make a little extra money there. However, when a crusading Houston radio commentator and his conservative audience exposed the ranch, it was forced to close down forever. The show weaves elements of country music and a story full of stereotypes that pulls at the heartstrings from a time gone by. This high energy romp will have you pulling on your cowboy boots, box-stepping in your saddles and foot stompin’ along.

*Intended for Mature Audiences*

Cast (in alphabetical order)

Narrator – Rick Barber
Angel – Abby Okerson
Shy – Molly Campbell
Jewel – Eryn Bowser
Miss Mona – Julie Powers
Linda Lou – Julianne Kowalski
Dawn – Shelby Grice
Ginger – Kristen Wilson
Beatrice– Ilissa Rassner
Taddy Jo – Conni J.Kelley-Schoen
Ruby Rae – Jennifer Kaufmann
Eloise – Shannon Clancy
The Dogettes – Jeffrey Reeves, Jason Kasubjak, Eric Van Veelen, Chris Jones, Steven Allen
Melvin P. Thorpe – Todd Hammer
Soundman – Chris Barber
Melvin Thorpe Singers – Kristen Wilson, Jennifer Kaufmann, Ilissa Rassner, Conni J. Kelley-Schoen
Sheriff Ed Earl Dodd –  Mike Bauerle
Cameraman – Cameron Hicks
Doatsey Mae – Jennifer Kaufmann
Edsel Mackey – James Whelan
C.J. Scruggs – Michael Cleaver
Mayor Rufus Poindexter – Chad Jones
Angelette Imogene Charlene –  Julianne Kowalski
Angelettes – Ilissa Rassner & Shelby Grice
Chip Brewster – Jeffrey Reeves
Senator Wingwoah – Bob Jessen
Aggie Quarterback #25 – Chris Jones
Aggie #32 – Steven Allen
Aggie #35 – Cameron Hicks
Aggie #95 – Zach Hoover
Scandinavian Placekicker #57 – Eric Van Veelen
Aggie #27 – Jason Kasubjak
Coaches – Chris Barber & Rick Barber
Reporter #1 – Chris Jones
Reporter #2 – Steven Allen
Governor’s Aide – Jeffrey Reeves
Governor – Jim Nelms

Production Staff:

Producer – Rich Baker
Director – Jim Thorp
Vocal Director – Rick Barber
Musical Director – Will Scharfenberger
Choreographer – Chris Barber
Stage Manager – Lindsay Vest
Tech Directors/Master Carpenters – Fred Margison & Andy Burnett
Costumer – Jeff Farley
Lighting Designer – Cody Wence
Sound Designer – Eric Matters
Assistant Director – Therese Burns
Assistant Stage Manager – Justin Hendricks
Properties Mistress – Judy Lombardo
Hair And Make Up – Chie Sharp
Backstage – Melissa Yurechko, Jeremy Crouch
Set Construction – Fred Margison, Andy Burnett, Michael Beason
Set Designers – Fred Margison, Rich Baker, Therese Burns & Jim Thorp
Rehearsal Accompanient – Linda Parr
Development Committee Liason – G. David Caudill